Review: Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

swb r

Nevernight.jpg

Star Rating:

5 Stars

My Thoughts:

This is a very different book. I read the summary but it didn’t reveal much. So starting in was a mystery. This first chapter was confusing but as I read on it became more clear to me. Now this is a book for mature readers. And for those who are cool with blood and gore. Because blood and gore there is. I wouldn’t read this if death makes you sad. There is graphic violence and sex. There are footnotes throughout the book. Some of them are super funny but I probably skipped over a fourth of them. They are kind of long. I’m not sure how it shows up in an eBook but I heard that it’s hard to read it that way. I don’t feel like this is anything like Harry Potter so I don’t see why Hogwarts is mentioned in the summary. I can’t say this is my favorite book ever but I do like the writing and plot! There was a giant plot twist (somewhere in the book *winks*), but someone spoiled it me. So it wasn’t as big for me. But still. It was great. Highlight here for very minor spoilers {My poor baby Tric}
But the UK cover is freaking gorgeous! And the US cover is super wicked! What cover do you like better?

neverflinch.jpg

Here are a few fun links:

Quote wallpaper made by Icy Books
UK and US desktop wallpapers made by Behind the Pages
US wallpapers made by Jay Kristoff
How to make a Nevernight inspired mask by Novel Heartbeat

From Goodreads:

Destined to destroy empires, Mia Covere is only ten years old when she is given her first lesson in death.

Six years later, the child raised in shadows takes her first steps towards keeping the promise she made on the day that she lost everything.

But the chance to strike against such powerful enemies will be fleeting, so if she is to have her revenge, Mia must become a weapon without equal. She must prove herself against the deadliest of friends and enemies, and survive the tutelage of murderers, liars and demons at the heart of a murder cult.

The Red Church is no Hogwarts, but Mia is no ordinary student.

The shadows love her. And they drink her fear.

About the Author:

Jay Kristoff.jpg

Jay Kristoff is the New York Times and internationally bestselling author of THE LOTUS WAR, THE ILLUMINAE FILES and THE NEVERNIGHT CHRONICLE. He is the winner of two Aurealis Awards, an ABIA, nominee for the David Gemmell Morningstar and Legend awards, named multiple times in the Kirkus and Amazon Best Teen Books list and published in over twenty-five countries, most of which he has never visited. He is as surprised about all of this as you are. He is 6’7 and has approximately 13030 days to live. He abides in Melbourne with his secret agent kung-fu assassin wife, and the world’s laziest Jack Russell.
He does not believe in happy endings.

Jay Kristoff: Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | Goodreads

2 thoughts on “Review: Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

  1. Well, you have a few sentence fragments and a few missing commas, but overall it’s a good review. Now that I know that you were talking about footnotes vs deaths, the review makes much more sense.

    Like

  2. I’m sad to see that you don’t thin it’ll work out as well for ebook readers, as that is the format I purchased it in. I’ll have to try to remember to let you know if it reads as nicely haha. Fingers crossed! Great review 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

